The Great Thing with having a Dad – Fathers Day


Richard Branddt

Richard Brandt

I’ve talked about him on paper, and on my show. But thinking about Fathers Day, I wanted to do a full piece about Dad’s. To point it out, I love my “old” man a lot. Then again, he’s been calling himself old since 38, yes Dad I remember you only four years older than me.  Of course we have had our differences, fights, and normal father, son relationship. We’ve also had our great times too. We’re planning a trip over to England and Ireland. And I call him every week, sometimes twice.

What is the great thing with having a Dad? They make you who you are. For better or worse, you are the person you are because of him. Since today is Father’s Day, how many people on social media/networking have told about the things their Father has done for them? A lot of people, and that’s so heart warming. If you are fortunate that your father is still in your life you can point that out to him.

I can say, I’m as invested into sports and European history as I am because of my Dad. Now I did get the love of writing from my Mother, but the subjects have been mostly from my father. While he’s never said “Write this, speak on this” most of the stuff I’ve come up with has been in some factor related to some topic we’ve talked about. This has been the greatest thing he has given me. That and I think my growing love of Country Music came  from him too.

Surprisingly, he’s the reason I went into radio. This is something I’ve really never told anyone. My Dad when he was in Houston worked in radio, and always talked about it. Plus with him not allowing us to watch TV during the schooldays when I was growing up really helped. (I have to credit him now, since he’s the only parent still alive). Originally, I wanted to be a college basketball expert because that’s our shared love in the lexicon of sports. That didn’t work but once again, he stood by me, like he would no matter what, when I went into soccer radio.

Your life may not be as great as you wanted it to be, but you always have someone behind you pulling for you. While it may not be as involved as it is with my Dad, your father is around for you. Just like anything else, you’ll think of today as a positive thing. And coming from me, that’s saying a lot. I’m honored to have a Dad who is so focused on me that he tries hard.

Over the last year, through the struggles of the family and life, we’ve had to be there for each other. I’m honored to have Richard C. Brandt on earth with me.